Click to Search
  1. You are Here »
  2. Home »
  3. Vedic Disciplines »
  4. Yoga »


The word 'Yoga' comes from the Sanskrit word 'YOJ', which means, 'To Unite'. The final aim of Yoga is to unite the individual self, with the universal self. In the ancient text, four types of Yogas have been described, these are:
  • Hath Yoga
  • Laya Yoga
  • Mantra Yoga
  • Raj Yoga

Yoga as it is practiced today is considered to be a combination of Hath and Raj Yogas and is known as, 'Stanga Yoga'.


The yogic practice of 'Pranayam' , refers to streams of energy or 'Nadis', in the body. Loosely, 'Nadis' correspond to veins, arteries and capillaries, or the respiratory and circulatory systems. The 'Ida' and 'Pingala' nadis carry the Sun current and the Moon currents, respectively, to different parts of the body. A third nadi, the 'Shushumbhna', is a very fine, brilliant thread running through the spinal cord along which the 'Kundalini', or 'Sleeping Serpent' ascends. Awakening the Kundalini is the highest step in Tantrik practices.

According to Vaastu Shastra, natural energies such as solar, gravitational, magneticetc flow from the North - East direction. This flow of energy corresponds to 'Ida' an is auspicious. On the other hand the South - West is inauspicious and corresponds to the the yogic flow, 'Pingala'.

Astrology readings
Our Expert Astrologers will use their knowledge of astrology, to answer three questions about your future.
If you Like our Website, Please Help to Spread the word
Share on RedditSubmit
Share on FaceBookLike
Customers Say »»
We and selected partners use cookies or similar technologies as specified in our privacy policy. Continuing to browse, interact with any link or button on, or by otherwise engaging with any content on our webpages, will be deemed as your acceptance of the terms of our privacy policy.
Page Last Updated on: 2022-09-27
 Going Up ⇧